Annual Port Hawkesbury Paper Tournament off and running

Helping to usher in the 38th annual Port Hawkesbury Paper Minor Hockey Tournament were dignitaries (from left) Port Hawkesbury Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton; Richmond County Warden Brian Marchand; and Leon Burt, co-chair of the tournament and vice-president of Strait-Richmond Minor Hockey. Taking the faceoff are the oldest and youngest players in the Strait-Richmond minor hockey program, Chris Benoit, the 17-year-old captain of the Midget A Pirates and Harrison Touesnard, a four-year old with the Richmond Initiation team.

PORT HAWKESBURY: One of the longest running minor hockey tournaments in Atlantic Canada continues its legacy as, right now, the 38th annual installment of the Port Hawkesbury Paper Minor Hockey Tournament is taking place.

Until next Sunday, both the Richmond Arena and Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre will be busy spots. Over 1,200 players, coaches and officials are involved in this year’s tournament. Eleven divisions see action, and 65 teams are taking part.

Some of those players and teams, in specific the Initiation and Novice ones, visited the area in February for their section of the tournament.


Right now, there are several highlights remaining.

On Wednesday, March 14 in Port Hawkesbury, the Pee Wee C division will have its consolation and championship games played at 2:40 p.m. and 4:10 p.m.

On Friday, March 16, the Pee Wee A consolation and championship will be played in Louisdale at 3:40 p.m. and 5:10 p.m.

Sunday, March 18, will be busy at both rinks, as the Atom C consolation and championship take place at the Civic Centre and, in Louisdale, the Midget As play their consolation and championship. Game time is 2 p.m./3:30 p.m. at both venues.

Indeed, the action will continue on the weekend of March 24/25. The Atom AA division will play then, and the consolation and championship games will take place Sunday at 9 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. in Louisdale.

The tournament officially opened last Saturday at the Civic Centre. Offering a welcome from the Town of Port Hawkesbury was Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton, and offering similar tidings from the County of Richmond was Warden Brian Marchand. Bob MacEachern was the master of ceremonies, and offering remarks on behalf of Strait-Richmond Minor Hockey was Vice-President Leon Burt. Burt is also the co-chair of the tournament.

Joining Burt on the executive committee are Dwain Shannon, John Ouellette, Joe Mcnamara, Ann Marie Sampson, Michelle Sampson, Jennifer Phillips, and Natasha Mury. Supervising and scheduling referees is Gerard MacNeil.

Burt noted that the sponsorship offered by major sponsors Port Hawkesbury Paper and the Town of Port Hawkesbury (totalling $2000) and the County of Richmond (also totalling $2000) was much appreciated.