Helen Rollock of Whycocomagh was named Inverness County’s Volunteer of the Year for her work with the Bayview Child Development Centre Association. She was recognized on April 10 at the municipality’s 35th Volunteer Awards Ceremony and Dinner. Rollock is bookended by Donna MacDonald (left) who works as the Director of Inverness County’s Recreation and Tourism Department and Betty Ann MacQuarrie, the Warden of Inverness County.
District 6 volunteers honoured at St. Peter’s Parish Hall in Port Hood were (back, from left): Marion Sauer, Scott Landry, Ian Cameron, Richard MacDonald, Neil Marple, and Denena MacLellan. In front are (from the left): Loretta MacKay, Hazel Theriault, Margie MacIntyre, and Teri Farris. Missing are R.J. Poirier, Marilyn Mury, Hugh P. MacPhail, Roy MacKinnon, and Bill Legge.
Volunteers from District 5 are pictured with Warden Betty Ann MacQuarrie during the annual volunteer banquet. In the back are (from the left): Gerald MacDonald, Sandy Gillis, Warden MacQuarrie, Anne Beaton, Norman Beaton, John Frank, Joey Gillis, and Ann MacDonald. In front are (from the left): Nellie MacDonald, Rita MacDonald, Anne Cormier, and Michelle Greenwell. Absent are Ina and Bob Smith, John Philip Rankin, and Jeanette MacNeil.
Earning a nod for their volunteer service from councillor John MacLennan were District 4 residents (back, from the left): Councillor MacLennan, Helen Rollock and Barry Campbell. In the front are (from the left): Paige Campbell, Emily MacDonald and Brittany Smith. Missing from the photo are Dougald McLean and Jordan MacRitchie.
Volunteer award winners from District 3 are seen with councillor Jim Mustard during last week’s annual volunteer banquet. Seen here are (back, from the left): Gussy MacLellan (representing Father Dan MacDonald), Councillor Mustard, and Robert Middaugh. In front are (from the left): Michael MacIsaac, Mona Smith and Madonna Delaney. Missing from the photo are Callum MacQuarrie and Ken MacKay.
District 2 volunteers given their due last week were Michel Larade (left) and Greg Lovely. In front are (from the left): Geoffrey Gillstrom, Gelasse Aucion and Freddie Burns. Missing are Beverly MacMillan and Edna Brinn.
Volunteers honoured from District 1 included J. Henri Poirier and Marie Sylvie Poirier. Missing are Robert LeBlanc and Mariel Chiasson.