Medal of Bravery recipients honoured

HALIFAX: Four heroes were honoured with a Medal of Bravery at a ceremony held today at Province House in Halifax.

The Medal of Bravery is awarded each year to people who have risked their life protecting the life or property of others.

This year’s recipients include Shane Bernard and Liam Bernard, both of Waycobah.

On September 16, 2016, best friends, Liam Bernard and Shane Bernard, were travelling on Trans-Canada Highway 105 when they arrived at the scene of a motor vehicle accident that occurred moments before. One vehicle, with two passengers, was on fire. Liam, Shane, and other bystanders helped one of the passengers exit the vehicle but the driver was pinned inside the car with flames at his feet. Liam entered the burning vehicle to free the driver’s legs, while Shane held on to Liam’s belt to anchor him to the ground.

The trapped driver realized the danger the Bernards were in and insisted they stop trying to help him. However, Liam chose to ignore the request and continued to attempt to pull the driver out of the burning truck. While Shane held on to Liam’s belt, giving him more reach, Liam was finally able to free the driver. The driver, Liam, and Shane were pulled away from the vehicle by other individuals just as the truck became engulfed in flames.

“These acts of bravery remind us of the good in the world,” said Premier Stephen McNeil.

“The people being honoured today displayed selfless courage and chose the well-being of others over their own. Their bravery is an inspiration and we are deeply grateful for their actions.”

For more information on medal recipients, or to find out how to nominate a hero, visit: